Magnetized by the Mic While I Kick my Juice …

Good morning. It’s a windy cool day here in Kansas City, Missouri and if you’ve had your air on the past few days you might want to switch back to the furnace…again. Weirdest. Weather. Ever.

There was a field trip for my sons kindergarten class that was cancelled due to the threat of bad weather, my husband opted out of a planned camping trip tonight for the same reason. I love a day that opens up but I have a hard time with unplanned events. I had plans for the day and now I do not. I have nothing extraordinary to share, so my words will be like useless chatter filling up space unless I can pull something out of my head in three, two, one…ok, juicing.

Last night my son asked me repeatedly, “Mom, can we make some juice?” My grandmother gave me her juicer to try out for a while before I buy one and it’s been sitting in the kitchen. What kind of person takes a juicer from an old woman, you ask? Well, that would be me, and besides, you don’t know my grandmother, she’s a pushy ol’ gal who gets her mind-set on something and doesn’t take no for an answer. And she never uses it, ever, ok once. It’s a dandy if I do say so myself, the Omega brand, very nice. I finally relented and told my son we could make juice on one condition, we make a green juice. He agreed, so we set to work.

I am actually glad he asked because I had a bag of fruit that desperately needed  using and the juice came out quite splendid. Here is what we added:

  • Grapes
  • Oranges
  • Lemons
  • Apples
  • Spinach, and lots of it.

The juice turned out really tasty, better than the last time I made a green that included kale and cucumber. I don’t know what’s up with that Kale I got but, Hello RANK. Yeah, to drink it was an exercise in lunacy. The juice was to drinking as dog feces is to scentsy. Ok, that was just uncalled for but really, I am not exaggerating. If anyone has ever used Kale please tell me what the secret is. I added green apple, orange, lemon, and ginger and still, it was a no go. Last night was a much different story, we all loved it and will be making it again. Now if I can get a shot of wheatgrass in there without them knowing that would just be a bonus. Here are a few pics.


2 thoughts on “Magnetized by the Mic While I Kick my Juice …

  1. Ha ha. Kansas City weather is so weird! I grew up in Lee’s Summit, MO.

    I love the juicing! I’ve seen a lot of people throw spinach in there with a bunch of fruits. We need to get a juicer sometime. Unfortunately, neither of our grandmothers have one… 🙂

  2. Ahhh, that’s too bad. You might have to start visiting the assisted living centers. Surely there is someone there who has a juicer collecting dust, and they would probably love the company:)

    Thanks for your comment, yes, this weather is redonk.

Leave a Reply

